FRIENDS: Rome Fortune

I haven’t known Rome very long, but from the week I stayed in Atlanta, I see that there is an insatiable hunger inside of this man. He has a passion for his craft and can be seen more often than not, carrying a notebook or a sketchbook to jot down his lyrics and thoughts. This gentle giant, being well over six feet tall, “floats” (as he likes to call it) through life discovering people and places that trigger his inner creativity

JJV: Who are you?

RF: Wow. You never know who you are until you ask. I don’t want to sound cliche but, I’m a free spirit. I like to float; experiencing new things and people. And I’m a dad.

Rome on his son:

My son is 3 years old. He was born October 13, the day after my birthday. He’s a great guy. As much as I’m a floater, I’m there and he sees me handle my business. He has made me focused. I wanted to be an artist. Everyone said I should do something more stable, but I know I have the gift to do it.

JJV: What is your ultimate passion?

RF: I haven’t done much of it yet, but I’ll say traveling. I want to experience different people and energies. Machu Picchu is my number one place I want to go. I was reading that it has really crazy energy beneath the earth’s surface. Supposedly, it’s a really big physical and spiritual healing experience. It really interests me.

JJV: What is your driving force?

RF: My son. My passion to want to leave a legacy behind me. I’m not afraid of death, but I’m afraid of being forgotten. If I die today– God forbid, how would my friends and family remember me? Who would? That’s my driving force.

JJV: What did you eat today?

RF: Hashbrowns and Subway, I’m a pescetarian. I eat the tuna there and you can get the meal for $4 on Fridays, so I wait around for Fridays.

JJV: Why are you doing what you’re doing?

RF: It just feels right. I didn’t give it any second thought. I can’t think of anything else that feels this good at any other point in my life.

JJV: If you aren’t doing music or art, then what else would you be doing?

RF: I’d probably be a damn homeless guy, just floating around (laughs). But I don’t do well with authority. I like to have creative control.

JJV: When do you get your best ideas?

RF: Late, late, late night– like 3 or 4am. I can have a good day creatively but the best ideas come at 3 to 4am when most people are at rest.

JJV: Are you proactive or reactive?

RF: Definitely proactive. Definitely.

JJV: What is the one thing you find yourself wearing the most?

RF: My boots. Timberland Earth Keepers. The are made from organic materials.

Timberland Earth Keepers. Rome's favorite kicks.

JJV: If you were to choose the year you were born, what year would it be? Why?

RF: 1988, the year I was born. Everything seems right. I can’t imagine other time periods. I’m pretty bashful, but when you get to know me I’m pretty social. But you can get on Twitter and befriend someone miles away that you normally wouldn’t get the chance to meet, and create a bond. I love the times we live in.

JJV: What is your version of breakfast of champions?

RF: Omlete with Gouda cheese. I don’t really eat breakfast. I don’t really have an appetite in the morning.

Rome is currently working on a new project. To listen to his latest track WANTED, click the photo below.

2 thoughts on “FRIENDS: Rome Fortune

  1. Proud of u neph. Luv your music. When I here u I cant help thinkin bout when u was 2 years old and I used to blast special ed and krs1 in your ear. I knew what I was doin I was creating a monster. Love u always. Unc Keith.

Leave a Reply

