DIY: Furniture & Fixins (Completed)

I have been so crazy busy the past few days doing shows and such and most of all, working on furniture!

First project, was a commissioned project.  I refinished and reupholstered 8, yes…EIGHT teak Danish-made Forse Stolefabrik dining room chairs.  I loved them.  It is definitely the biggest project I have done to date.  I love these.

Force Stolefabrik Danish Chairs

How amazing?!

Next is the 1940’s dining room table that I decided needed a facelift.  I love love love the result!  It’s a 1941 The Howell Company dining room table.  It originally had a “Plastex” coat on the surface, but it was chipping and I was worried about lead content.  So I removed it and refinished it.  I love how it is two-toned now.

Next, I refinished this super awesome butter yellow Naugahyde executive office chair.  I refinished the entire frame and the solid walnut armrests.  I think it look unreal.  The original upholstery is in amazing condition.

Next up, I refinished 4 geometrical chairs and also reupholstered them with the most wicked graphic fabric.  Seriously, going to the fabric store is like going to a candy store for me.  It’s just so exhilarating.

Next, I finished an early 1900’s chair.  I want to say it’s from the 20’s or 30’s; the seat had burlap seat straps stretched over a wooden frame and the cushion was made of straw with cotton batting on top.  It also had handmade cast nails used to hold down all the fabric and straps.  It was way cool.  I really like how the seat is inset into the frame of the chair as well, it adds a little element of surprise.  Overall, I loved this little chair.  It was so much fun and this paint color made me smile.  Talk about a breath of fresh air.

My most detail oriented project was refinishing this dresser and nightstand (lowboy, kinda) bedroom set.  These guys were pretty jacked when I got them.  But they turned out to be so lovely.  I call them the “Tuxedo Striped” set.  It took me about a week to finish them (I’m kinda a perfectionist).  The effort was well worth it I think.

Lastly, I picked up a really awesome retro Toastmaster fan and decided that the original poo brown color was just not going to work for me.  I mean, if you’re going to have objects in your home, they should inspire you, bring joy and have a sense of humor.  It was my first time tinkering with electronics, but this was such a fun project I couldn’t resist.  A day of soaking, scrubbing and sanding brought this little baby out of the dark ages.  What do you think?

I hope you enjoyed my projects!  And believe it or not, I have more in the works as we speak.  You know me, I’m not happy unless I’m always working on something.  Stay tuned!

xoxo, Joules

One thought on “DIY: Furniture & Fixins (Completed)

Leave a Reply

