DIY FURNITURE: Projects Past & Finished

Hey ladies and gents, I know it’s been a while.  Lots of things have been happening and I haven’t had a chance to get down to blogging yet!  Yikes!  But I promise, you will be happy with the next few postings, there are lots of things in the works that you will certainly enjoy!

As usual, I have finished some really cool furniture projects lately and am pretty proud of them.

I rewired this sweet brass sofa lamp and brought the finish back to life.

I refinished this Mid Century Danish coffee table!

It needed new trim on the side, so I found some that matched the wood grain and stained it three times and sanded down the edges to fit flush with the corners.

I also refinished this sweet brass “oil” lamp. The shade was totally discolored and needed a bit of an update. Two coats of Rustoleum and one clear coat solved that problem!

My most favorite chair duo to date. These mid century Stendig chairs from Finland with a chrome spider base were in a sad state of disrepair when they came to me.

And now they are bright and cheery in this fabulous orange Naugahyde.

I also added a contrasting red piping for a little element of surprise and a pop of color.

I had these D-Scan teak chair frames for about 6 months because I didn’t have a fabric that inspired me.

Until I found this fantastic deadstock 1970’s striped wool!

I am a huge huge D-Scan fan. The design is so simple and streamlined and are show-stopper pieces for just about any room.

My favorite part besides matching up the stripes on the chairs, is the fact that I hand-stitched the piping on the underside of the backrests…it took a while, but the effect was so worth it!

I also hemed each side of the fabric on the seat cushions to prevent fraying. Double knit wool is a really rugged fabric but it frays pretty easily if the edges are left to flap in the wind.

This was probably the best diamond in the rough I found. “The Sam Avedon Chair” by Alladin Plastics Company

Alladin Plastics actually ended up suing another plastics company here in SF because they stole the design for The Sam Avedon Chair.

The Sam Avedon Chair is one of the most coveted mid century plastic chairs as it is a designer chair, and looks similar to Eames, but does not carry the same price tag. Essentially, it is the poor man’s Eames.

I also came across this fantastic credenza that I just couldn’t pass up! It didn’t need much work, just a few touch ups here and there but it really is a stunner. It didn’t last long and was sold to lovely Mandy within 24 hours! See her photos and statement below….

I love how she has a yellow entertainment set! How perfect! (Photo courtesy of Mandy)

It fits perfectly in the space! When we delivered it she was so happy. That’s why I love my job. (Photo courtesy of Mandy)

“I love my new mid century treasure almost as much as I adored the sweet lady who personally sold and delivered me” -Mandy

Thank you Mandy for your kind words and I know you will love this piece for years to come!

 

Stay tuned for more projects in the works available for sale.  Everything pictured above (with the exception of the lamp) has been sold.

5 thoughts on “DIY FURNITURE: Projects Past & Finished

  1. Erin says:

    Everything you’ve done here is so beautiful! I have a question about your D-Scan chairs. I’m working on reupholstering a set of my own, but I can’t figure out how to remove the top cushions. Mine have small wooden covers probably over a screw, but the covers won’t budge. Do you have any tips on how to remove these? I’ve tried to pry them off but I’m scratching up the wood without much luck with removing them…

    • Hi Erin!

      Take a flat head screw driver and a hammer and lay the flat head going with the grain of the wood in the peg and whack the end of the screw driver with the hammer. They will split and fall right out! They sell replacement pegs at the hardware store. You can stain them to match or use teak oil to get them to look like the same color. Otherwise you can order them online. Cheers!

  2. Tracy Parker says:

    Love the Sam Avedon chairs. I just found 5 turquoise chairs and am working at getting them all cleaned up. Did you do any special to make yours look so nice? I’d love to hear what you used on them.

    • Hi Tracy!

      You know what, these are really simple and easy to clean. I used Murphy’s Oil Soap a hard plastic bristle brush and an old toothbrush. Worked like magic! Feel free to share photos when you’re all done with your chairs! I’m excited to see them!

Leave a Reply

